Log in

You are here: PHEA -> ULF -> Participants -> Bio

[back to participant list]

Biographical Sketch: Chorh chuan TAN

Institution: National University of Singapore

Country: Other (non-African institution)

Professor Tan Chorh Chuan is Acting President of the National University of Singapore. He is concurrently the Deputy Chairman of the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR) and Chief Executive of the National University Health System, as well as Senior Advisor to the Governing Board of Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School.
A graduate of the National University of Singapore and a renal physician, Professor Tan started his medical career in 1983. He has been a Senior Consultant with the NUH Division of Nephrology since 1997 and a Professor of Medicine with NUS since 1999. He headed the Department of Medicine from 1997 to 1998 and was Dean of the Faculty of Medicine from 1997 to 2000 and Chairman of the NUH Medical Board during the same period.
He was appointed as the Director of Medical Services, Ministry of Health, from 2000 to 2004, in which capacity he was responsible for the medical response to the SARS epidemic in 2003.
Professor Tan has received numerous awards. These include the Public Service Star (Singapore National Day Awards) in 2003 for outstanding contributions to overcoming SARS in Singapore, and the Public Administration Gold Medal in 2004 for his work in the Ministry of Health. In the academic field, the awards received include the Albert Schweitzer Gold Medal (awarded by the Polish Academy of Medicine); and the Achievement Medal (awarded by the Singapore Society of Nephrology), the 1996 Singapore Youth Award for his research in the regulation of erythropoietin and the National Science and Technology Medal Award 2008
, Professor Tan received a number of fellowship awards including the Commonwealth Medical Fellowship, Association of Commonwealth Universities, UK; and Wellcome Fellow, University of Oxford, UK.
Professor Tan is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, Royal College of Physicians of London, the Royal Australasian College of Physicians, the American College of Physicians, and elected Fellow of the Polish Academy of Medicine. He is also a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society, UK.